The American Hospital Association elected seven new members to its board of trustees for three-year terms beginning Jan. 1. In addition, the board appointed one new member to fill a one-year vacancy. The elected members are:

Carmela Coyle | president and CEO of the Maryland Hospital Association. Previously, she spent 20 years at the AHA as a member of the executive management team. Before joining the AHA, Coyle spent six years as an analyst for the Congressional Budget Office.

David Entwistle | has been CEO of the University of Utah Hospitals and Clinics in Salt Lake City, since 2007. Previously, he held leadership roles at institutions across the country, including senior vice president and chief operating officer of the University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics in Madison from 2002 to 2007; and vice president of professional services and joint venture operations at City of Hope National Medical Center, Duarte, Calif.

Melinda L. Estes, M.D. | has been president and CEO of Saint Luke’s Health System in Kansas City Mo., since September 2011. Prior to joining Saint Luke’s, Estes was president and CEO of Fletcher Allen Health Care in Burlington, Vt.  Before that, she held various positions at the Cleveland Clinic Florida.

Steven P. Johnson | is president and CEO of Susquehanna Health in Williamsport, Pa., which includes Williamsport Regional Medical Center, Divine Providence Hospital, Muncy Valley Hospital, Soldiers & Sailors Memorial Hospital, Susquehanna Health Insurance Network and other entities.

Bruce Lawrence | is president and CEO of INTEGRIS, Oklahoma’s largest health care system. He has been with the system since 2001 and moved into his current position in 2010. Previously, he was COO of Baptist Health System in Montgomery, Ala., and served 11 years with Baptist Health System in Little Rock, Ark.

Randy Oostra | is president and CEO of ProMedica in Toledo, Ohio. He joined ProMedica in 1998 and held various roles prior to becoming CEO. Previously, Oostra served in myriad roles in health care leadership, including: executive vice president, Saint Anthony’s Health System, Alton, Ill.; vice president, Blodgett Memorial Medical Center, Grand Rapids, Mich.; and assistant administrator, Health One Corp., Minneapolis.  

Mary Beth Walsh, M.D. | has been executive medical director and CEO of Burke Rehabilitation Hospital in White Plains, N.Y., since 1995. She has been a member of the AHA’s Committee for Process Improvement, former chair of the Long-Term Care and Rehabilitation section of the AHA and served as a delegate of the AHA’s Regional Policy Board 2. Walsh is board-certified in internal medicine and rheumatology.

Joe Wilkins | board chair of St. Joseph Hoag Health in Irvine, Calif., was appointed to fill a one-year vacancy on the AHA board. After developing and managing biomedical services for Kennedy Health System in New Jersey, he spent 30 years at Danaher-Beckman Coulter. He is a member of the executive team at Quest Diagnostics.