AHA sections name 2013 leaders

Alvin Hoover, CEO of King's Daughters Medical Center in Brookhaven, Miss., became chair of the American Hospital Association's Section for Small or Rural Hospitals in 2013. He has been CEO of KDMC since 2007.

Paul R. Bengtson, CEO of Northeastern Vermont Regional Hospital in Saint Johnsbury, Vt., will become section chair in 2014.

Staci Covey, CEO of Troy (Pa.) Community Hospital, is the immediate past chair of the section.

Rick W. Merrill, president and CEO of Cook Children's Health Care System in Fort Worth, Texas, became the 2013 chair of the AHA's Section for Maternal and Child Health.

Angela L. Scioscia, M.D., chief medical officer, University of California San Diego Medical Center, is section chair-elect for 2014.

Jack Ludmir, M.D., professor and chair, obstetrics and gynecology department, Pennsylvania Hospital, and vice chair and director, obstetric services, University of Pennsylvania Health System, Philadelphia, is the immediate past section chair.

Stephen Hanson, executive vice president and operations leader for Texas Health Resources' North Zone in Arlington, Texas, will chair the AHA's Section for Health Care Systems. Hanson also serves as chair of the Texas Association of Voluntary Hospitals.

Joseph Swedish, president and CEO of Trinity Health in Livonia, Mich., is the section's chair-elect.

Paul Summergrad, chairman of the department of psychiatry at Tufts University School of Medicine and psychiatrist-in-chief at Tufts Medical Center in Boston, is 2013 chair of the AHA's Section Council for Psychiatric and Substance Abuse Services.

James Eyler, CEO of Coliseum Center for Behavioral Health in Macon, Ga., is the section's chair-elect of the section.