•James M. Sanger, president and chief executive officer of SSM Health Care–St. Louis, received The Missouri Hospital Association's 2011 Visionary Leadership Award at its annual convention in November. The MHA award acknowledges Sanger for helping build a public/private collaboration that addressed last year's sudden closing of the short-term acute care psychiatric unit and emergency room at the state-sponsored St. Louis Metropolitan Psychiatric Center. The St. Louis Regional Health Commission asked Sanger to lead a task force that included SSM Health Care–St. Louis, BJC HealthCare, and the Missouri Department of Mental Health, which resulted in the creation of a regional Psychiatric Stabilization Center to replace these critical community services. The award also recognized Sanger's reorganization of SSM Health Care–St. Louis into a cohesive network of seven hospitals, outpatient facilities and physicians' offices focused on safety, top national patient outcomes and satisfaction and access to quality care.


The South Florida Hospital and Healthcare Association re-elected Calvin Glidewell chairman of the board during the organization's annual meeting on Dec. 1. Glidewell is the chief executive officer of Broward General Medical Center, in Fort Lauderdale.  He has more than 20 years of health care experience and was with the University Community Health System in Tampa for 16 years, before going to Broward Health four years ago. In addition to his re-election, SFHHA announced other officers: Mark Bryan, CEO, Delray Medical Center, is vice chairman; Anthony Degina, CEO, University of Miami Hospital is immediate past chairman. James Ball, COO, Catholic Health Services, is treasurer; and Bo Boulenger, CEO, Baptist Hospital, is secretary. Two additional board members serve "at large" on the association's executive committee; Dian Backoff, vice president of operations, Vitas, and C. Kennon Hetlage, CEO, Memorial Hospital West.
Newly elected board of directors members include; Alex Contreras, CAO, Jackson Memorial Hospital; Derek Murzyn, CEO, Kindred Hospital Fort Lauderdale; Ernesto Perez, CEO, Dade Medical College; J. Michael Cowling, CEO, Palm Beach Gardens Medical Center; Jeffrey Freimark, CEO, Miami Jewish Health System; Patricia Greenberg, president, National Healthcare; and Susan Pinnas, senior vice president, AvMed Health Plan.